WIAW Eat All the Salads!

It has been really warm here lately and salads for dinner sounded good!  I ended up making a salad as our main dish for dinner 4 times last week, whoops!  This probably sounds totally monotonous but they were all very different so it wasn’t too boring!

273584

Monday Salad was my favorite, and even my non-veggie loving husband said we should add this to the weekly rotation.

  monsalad

I saw several people post this recipe on facebook and I thought it looked so good, I had to try it!  It is called BLT Chopped salad with Corn, Feta, and Avocado, and you can see the recipe here http://www.howsweeteats.com/2013/05/blt-chopped-salad-with-corn-feta-avocado/ I followed their recipe how it is, the only thing I did differently was I used romaine and spinach instead of the lettuces they used since that’s what I had on hand, I grilled fresh corn, and I added way more bacon.

On Tuesday I made tacos for the family.  Ever since they saw The Lego Movie, they are super into “taco tuesday” lol.  So I just take the ingredients and make it into a salad.  I used ground turkey, added a little cayenne pepper, chili powder, cumin, garlic, and salt (don’t use the envelope of seasonings, have you ever read the ingredients? terrible!) I put the ground turkey on top of a bunch of lettuce, then top with salsa and avocado!  Super tasty and healthy!

tacotuessalad

Wednesday salad was  new one for me and I couldn’t wait to try it!  Bacon and BBQ Burger Salad!  It was basically all the things you would put on a really good burger, but deconstructed.  It seemed strange but it tasted awesome!! I love a good burger, and this is a great alternative.  I followed the recipe ( http://www.primallyinspired.com/bacon-and-bbq-burger-salad/)  except I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and I added blue cheese crumbles!  I would have added more bacon too, because I love bacon, but I just didn’t have much left.

 wedburgersalad

Thursday was one of my favorite summer salads.  I made this several times last year and it is always so good!  It is whatever lettuce you like (I usually mix romaine and spring mix), red onions, sliced strawberries, sliced almonds, blue cheese crumbles, grilled chicken, and balsamic dressing.  All of the flavors in this go so well together, and are perfect for summer!

strawberrysalad

What are your favorite salads??

3 thoughts on “WIAW Eat All the Salads!

Leave a Reply

